Quantcast

2nd dh rig

Kalbi777

Chimp
Nov 3, 2014
hi guys :)
I' currently riding a 2014 gambler 30.
I'm able to get pretty good deal on norcos bike.
And my choice fell on 2 bikes
The aurum c7.3 or the a7.1
So one is carbon the other is Alu.
Wheight is almost same, carbon weights like 300 gramms less.
Both have boxxer rc and rs kage. The alu one has zee brakes and xo derailleur.
The carbon has guide r brakes and shimano zee dereilleur.
My main concern about this 2nd bike is durability. I d like to keep it as long as possible. Handling is less important but i still want to be informed about the difference between carbon and aluminium.
I started 2 years ago and do have pretty good skills, i wouldnt say i'm an expert.
If someone had experience with this bike or was able to test the same frame aluminium and carbon i would be happy to have some points from you guys.
Thanks

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
All of my aluminum bikes have dented from being struck by a rock one way or another. (downtubes, chainstays, seat stays, etc.)

All of my carbon bikes have small stone chips in them from being struck by a rock.

I notice a slight improvement in small bump and vibration compliance on my carbon bikes when I go BACK to aluminum.

I ride carbon trail bike and DH bike, as does my wife, she also had a dent in both her last aluminum trail and dh bikes. For me, advantage (so far) carbon. Advantage Aluminum in the cost department.

I hate Zee components, my brakes were inconsistent and my derailuer snapped cables and wore out very quickly.

I like my guide RSC brakes far more, I don't have experience with the "r" version. I recently switched to some Sram (i think x0) DH derailuers with the new horizontal whatever gimmick, and have successfully completed 3 weekends of riding (2 races, 1 fun ride weekend) with zero complaints, zero broken cables.

I don't have any experience with the Norco, but those are my thoughts on your situation.

Kalbi777

Chimp
Nov 3, 2014