Quantcast

Attention Vegetarians!!!

Hey guys, I just finished reading Fast Food Nation and I have stopped eating meat because I am so traumatized by what finds its way into meat. I'm thinking if I really get a craving, I'll do some free range chicken or something, but moos and oinks are out of the picture. So my question is: Now what?

How do I eat?

spokedwheel

Chimp
Mar 16, 2002
Oceanside, CA
Welcome,

Now be prepared to ask what's in everything at a buffet and studying the ingredients on a can/box of anything. There are quite a few great cookbooks out there for vegies, and now it's becoming more"popular" so it's alot easier to eat out and shop for.

I personally eat alot of fish and tofu for my protein source, I also eat alot of beans like rice&beans and peanut butter. Pick your vegies for iron also,I think brocolli(sp?) is a good source of iron?

I'm no expert on nutrition but I have been a fish eating vegie for 12 years and have found what works for me. You'll figure out your own needs as you go along.

Originally posted by LeatherFace
Hey guys, I just finished reading Fast Food Nation and I have stopped eating meat because I am so traumatized by what finds its way into meat. I'm thinking if I really get a craving, I'll do some free range chicken or something, but moos and oinks are out of the picture. So my question is: Now what?

How do I eat?

JOJO

Top Banana
Jun 28, 2001
Superior, CO
I was a veggie for 9 years... but couldnt get enough calories or protein (due to my own laziness about cooking:rolleyes: ) but it is important to make sure you are getting complete proteins if you are not eating any animal source.... So beans alone wont do it... you need to combine beans and rice.... Grains and legumes.....etc etc etc...

A really good book to read about nutrition in general is Eating Well for Optimal Health by Dr. Andrew Weil.... not vegetarian specific but still a good source.

I think BMXMan is another good source for vegetarian info:D

S

Sniper