Quantcast

Beginner Trials Frame

bigdonut

Chimp
Mar 10, 2005
PHX
Any suggestions on trials frames? I'm currently riding an Azonic Steelhead with downhill parts (~40 lbs) and am finding it hard to learn trials moves. Would still like to have a seat and be able to pedal around downtown. Also, would like to run it as a singlespeed.

bikerpunk98199

Turbo Monkey
Apr 24, 2005
the hood
thats how i learned trials on a steelhead w/ a z150. it depends do you want a mod or a stock. monty makes some cool mods you can pick up some cheap ones to. i ride a stock. many people have jumped on the high b.b. train and long wheel bases. nothing wrong w/ a long bike it helps w/ hooks. high b.b. feel weird though if you dont have your bike set up right. i ride a echo E3 1040. go to this site it a trials site www.observedtrials.net

ridiculous

Turbo Monkey
Jan 18, 2005
MD / NoVA
im just getting into this too, i just picked up a haro zero and im having a blast on it. Its nice and cheap and easy to upgrade. Its my single speed commuting, DJ and urban ride as of now and its treating me well.

bigdonut

Chimp
Mar 10, 2005
PHX
I was looking around the net today and saw some old planet-x zebdi frames. Looks like this would be perfect, but I don't think they are making them anymore. I also saw some Echo's that might work but again they were older and I didn't see them listed on their website. Possibly another choice might be an Evil DOC, the stays are short and adjustable, but no rim brake bosses and seat tube is kinda long.

Sir_Crackien

Turbo Monkey
Feb 7, 2004
alex. va. usa.
the pure is a great stock frame. if you like it then get it.

btw rim brakes are almost a must in trials. pretty much only the pros run disc. the reason for rim brakes is that they have much better locking power and that is critical in trials.

btw v brakes and maggies can be setup to have about the same amount of power so maggies are not a must but trials spec pads are.

bigdonut

Chimp
Mar 10, 2005
PHX