Quantcast

Best SS conversion kit

Radarr

Turbo Monkey
Feb 25, 2004
Montana
I'm looking to make my Porter into a singlespeed, and am after a kit to SS my XT hub. I've seen a bunch for sale at various places, but does anyone have any experience with one vs. another? Is there a really good one, or one that I should stay away from?

Radarr

Turbo Monkey
Feb 25, 2004
Montana
I'm new to the SS thing, so I don't feel weird asking this:

Why use a tensioner? If there's two fixed gears, what's the point?

Dirty

i said change it damn it....Janet...Slut!!
Aug 3, 2003
because its very hard to get the chain to be perfectly tensioned. if you do not use a tensioner, the chain will hang loosely from the two gears, and will often fall off.

swerve76

Monkey
Aug 30, 2003
nevada
You don't need a kit to single speed a bike. The easiest thing to do is pick a cog, ss specific or from a cassette, and use PVC or cassette spacers to space out the cog. For a tensioner, Rennen makes a good one. It is bolt on and does not use a spring. Or you might get a lucky and find a gear ratio that does not need a tensioner.

BikeGeek

BrewMonkey
Jul 2, 2001
Hershey, PA
I've been using the Spot kit...pretty clean look.

It's hard to say if there is a "best" kit since they all are pretty much the same thing: spacers, cog, maybe a tensioner. I would suggest getting one with multiple spacers instead of something like the Gusset 1'er which doesn't give you much in the way of chainline adjustment.

boostindoubles

Nacho Libre
Mar 16, 2004
Yakistan
yo radaar, you've seen how i'm running the ss on my xt hub. took a cog and threw a ton of spacers on with it. When i had it on my roast i used a tensioner cause i ran vertical dropouts and couldnt move my wheel back to tighten the chain. Now that i havehorizontal dropouts i dont have a tensioner anymore.