Quantcast

bmx frame for trials?

jaj3078

Chimp
Apr 13, 2008
Would a 20" bmx make due for a mod trials frame. I'm just starting out trials and am not ready to drop serious money on a trials bike. BMX frames have the strength, so with a longer stem and good brakes could it make a decent trials bike to start off with or is the geometry not conducive to the trials style?

The main reason I ask is that used trials bike seem not readily available as for BMX stuff is every where.

Thanks

Dethklok

Monkey
Jul 4, 2008
Rochester, NY
I think anything beyond rear hops and bunny hops wouldnt work out too well...

From what Ive heard people have TRIED to turn their BMX into a mod...but always ends in disaster...just look for a used trials bike I got my stock echo for $450

Sonic Reducer

Monkey
Mar 19, 2006
seattle worshington
i say go for it, can be fun to build and improve and mess around with if you are doing it for dirt ass cheap. i'm talkin like $100 total, strictly old free junk build. find a cheap race bike with V brakes. all depends on how good you are at ghetto rigging stuff. dont remember the specifics of how i did it but i think i got an adapter to run square taper cranks in a american BB and ran the 22t granny and a homemade bash ring out of a few chainrings or pieces of aluminum or something. a bash plate would be best.
get a v brake plate for the bmx fork or a 20" kids fork with v brake mounts. find a cheap set of maguras but just v brakes can work if you tar. run the widest knobby you can find in the rear and like a 2.1 front. grind and tar rims. figure out what bar height you want, cruiser bars maybe? bmx bars will be a bit tall.