Quantcast

Bottom bracket cOnFuSiOn on a kona stinky delux

boxierrric

Chimp
Oct 23, 2012
My bottom bracket is starting to playing up:mad:very annoyed. This is my first time with b/b so no hate please. I've got a kona stinky deluxe 2007 with raceface x-type ride dh crank set and b/b. I'm thinking about getting this bottom bracket - raceface team x-type dh b/b. So my question is will that fit - i haven't measured the frame yet. It would be very useful if you could tell me what tools to get - finding it hard to get a puller cap. My dad isn't too keen on spending lots of money on my bike so cheap prices please. Not so much it affects quality. And also i would like to know if i can fix it by without getting a new one.

Thanks for any help.

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
the nice the about external BB's is that the frame BB shell width is largely irrelevant. the only difference between the 3 sizes in the link you listed is the plastic spacer that sits between the cups (and is something that many people don't actually install). the diameter and threading on each is exactly the same, so no worries there. i would still recommend getting the appropriate size BB though in case you do choose to include that plastic spacer.

and what do you mean "puller cap"?

also, these BB's require a special wrench (if you don't already have one).

boxierrric

Chimp
Oct 23, 2012
Thank you, i don't get how you have time to reply to every thread. Respect to you. and by puller cap i mean crank removal tool. and i don't have that special wrench but i found out that both bbs use the same wrench so no problem with that.

IH8Rice

I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!
Aug 2, 2008
Im over here now
Thank you, i don't get how you have time to reply to every thread. Respect to you. and by puller cap i mean crank removal tool. and i don't have that special wrench but i found out that both bbs use the same wrench so no problem with that.