Quantcast

Cheap 29er for a short dude / Rip Van Winkle reemerges and surveys the bike scene

Toshi

Harbinger of Doom
Oct 23, 2001
Here's the scoop:

I've been checked out from the bike scene for many years. I don't know half the names of the component lines these days (SLX? WTF? there wasn't any such thing back in the day). I don't have any bikes at this point, in fact. Also keep in mind that I'm short: 173 cm / 5' 8" with a ~30" inseam and a slightly longer reach/wingspan, for what that's worth.

This bike would be for general trail riding. Long Island doesn't have much other than dinky little trails, from what I've seen, and my days of jumping off of stuff are probably over, what with being more "responsible" now that I'm a married professional not to mention a somewhat bum shoulder. If I make it back out west in a few years then I'd pick up something beefier but for now a simple hardtail would do.

On that topic, my riding history includes all disciplines, basically, and I've bounced through more than my share of bikes over the years. I'm not a gear snob, however, and want to get something cheap, as in $1000 if possible.

I'm posting this thread in the 29er forum since 29" wheels are one of the things that I can see have visibly changed in the landscape since I last was into the scene. If I constrain myself to 29" wheels (bad idea given my height? I do like the concept…) then what other things should I be looking out for?

- 29er in general? Yea/nay?
- Integrated headset? Makes a difference or showpiece?
- External bearing bottom bracket? Any impact on real life usage?
- 7" disc up front is the way to go, no?
- UST/tubeless? Good/bad/not necessary/critical?

Once again I want to do this on the cheap, circa $1000, so no suggesting high-zoot rigs. I've had my Chris King and XTR caviar and don't need anything of the sort. What bikes might the RM audience suggest given the above?