Quantcast

cheap cheap..

hoaxci5

Chimp
Jul 4, 2001
Grand Rapids, MI
Well I'm a poor college student who would like to a bike. Does a decent cheap bike exsist? like under 300.. if so what should i be looking for in it? I haven't really researched much so if it is a simple answer just tell me to stop being lazy :)

muddywolf

Chimp
Jul 1, 2001
somewhere in the desert
there are some decent bikes out there in the 3-400 range(Raleigh has the M-50/M-60, and Gary Fisher has a couple allright ones in that range) look for stuff on sale. Its getting close to the time we usually start discounting this years bikes. I would try and get something with an adjustable fork, and also try and find a shop with a good adjustment policy(we offer free tune-ups for a year)
and like Dirty said,"you get what you pay for", if you plan on really punishing your bike save a little more and get something better

R

RideMonkey

You should look for a good used bike. I have a Gary Fisher Acquila I am selling for 200. Probably not worth shipping it, but this is just an example of how you can get a $500 dollar bike for half price or less if you go used.

You should advertise for the bike you want you usually cant get a good machine for 300.
so far my last bike cost me 1000 new and that was a hunk of S**t my new bike has so far cost me $3000 and I've still got about 700-1000 of parts that I want to change.
Though it depends what riding you do my 1000 bike was an xc bike and my new one is a DH hardtail which i've built up to how i want it.
But hey they are just my thoughts:D :D

bassline

Chimp
Sep 14, 2001
Clifton Park, NY