Quantcast

Clip Less pedals

Random

Chimp
Aug 14, 2001
Joplin, MO
I was wondering about clip less pedals. I was wanting to know how many of you use them on your Mountain bikes. I was riding this weekend and my feet kept slipping on the climbs. Just curious if it would be worthwhile for me to invest in some pedals and shoes.

Ranger

Swift, Silent, Deadly!
Aug 16, 2001
Y'all can't see me...
Servus!

I think if you are planning to do some XC-style riding that clipless is the way to go.

I have been riding clipless for about 12 years now and feel strange when I'm not clipped in!

Random

Chimp
Aug 14, 2001
Joplin, MO
I guess I will get some. Are the Shimano SPD-M536 a good first choice? They are $50 from Supergo. I don't want to spend too much but I would like some good ones.

R

RideMonkey

The Shimanos are pretty good. If you can spend a bit more, get the Times. Click in/release on the Time pedals is always consistent and would be a bit easier on someone who is learning the ins and outs of clipless.

Random

Chimp
Aug 14, 2001
Joplin, MO
One last question about shoes. I have a pair of Sidi motorcycle boots and I really like them. Is the sizing the same between the bicycle and motorcycle lines. Are they worth the extra money or should I look at another brand?
I just noticed the Answer. Are they decent I also have answer Motocross boots that are okay but not great. Is the quality similar to the bike shoes.

FlipSide

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2001
I really like my Shimano 545. I'll buy them again. In my opinion, the metal cage is a plus.

When I first had clipless, I had the impression it improved the ride even more than my first fork improved it.
That pretty much says it all...

Go for it!!! You won't regret it

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England