converting geared rear wheel to single speed?

Discussion in 'Road & Cyclocross' started by LordOpie, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    The only bike I have left that's 700c is my single-speed. Might as well use my Mavic Open Pro/Ultegras. There's a 9-speed hub on there.

    What would I do to make the switch? Just take the hub off?

    And I assume I can buy a bolt-on skewer to replace the quick-release?

    Thankie :)
     
    #1 -   Nov 1, 2007

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    You can get a bolt on skewer and there is a spacing kit that will allow you to run single speed...lemme find it
     
    #2 -   Nov 1, 2007
  3. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
  4. MtnbikeMike

    MtnbikeMike Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,640
    Location:
    The 909
    #4 -   Nov 1, 2007
  5. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    Thanks!

    However...

    1. would that still put me at 135mm wide? I'll have to measure as I can't find the rear spacing width online.

    2. FAQ says I'd need a chain tensioner, which I don't have, nor want. So I'm not sure that'll work for me?
     
    #6 -   Nov 1, 2007
  6. johnbryanpeters

    Rep/Likes:
    220 / 2,045
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    23,308
    Location:
    Making moss sad in New Haven, Vermont
    Why the hell would you replace a QR skewer with a bolt-on? You're not gaining any strength...
     
    #7 -   Nov 1, 2007
  7. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    I'm not sure any of the skewers I have on hand would hold? Also, just don't need QR on the bike.
     
    #8 -   Nov 1, 2007
  8. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    They make half links for BMX chains and that may be an option to get the chain tensioned properly. The setup I posted puts the cog literally right in the middle of the cassette, so if that spacing doesn't work you'll want to use individual spacers instead.

     
    #9 -   Nov 1, 2007
  9. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    ok, so the idea is to leave the hub on, just use spacers and the gear? Get the chainline in-line and I'm good?

    Got plenty of room on the horizontal dropouts, so if tensioning is just for chain line, then I'll go individual spacers. Now I have to measure :)
     
  10. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    You have Horz dropouts? I mentioned half links becuase I thought it was a standard dropout frame. What I would do is buy a bunch of spacers and the cog that you want, get the spacing on the rear cog to be inline with the chainring and then use the horz. dropouts to tension the chain.

    <edit> a standard skewer will work on the rear wheel, unless you are jumping (casing causes it to slip) or you have legs like McEwen
     
  11. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    Cool. Thank. I'll go with the QR and see how that works.
     
  12. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep/Likes:
    29 / 153
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction
    Those thin cogs can gouge your casstette body. You need to get something like a surly, king or on-one cog.


    Some people have been known to just use some pvc pipe to dail in the chainline.


    I wouldn't trust a bolt-on skewer to hold the wheel without some type of tug(surly etc.).
     
  13. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    How are they any different than an Ultegra cassette? A bunch of the cogs are thin
     
  14. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    I'm not certain what a "tug" is, but the bolts that came with my single-speed seem to be doing a brilliant job, so I was just gonna use them on the bolt-on skewer I bought, but gonna hold off on that and try the QR for shiggles :)

    but I'll take your suggestion and go with Surly since I'm now a surly whore.
     
  15. splat

    splat Nam I am

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 33
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,649
    Location:
    Well Maybe Windows is Bearable ! Unix Rules !
    Take a Couple of old cassettes a part take all the spacers and use them as the spacers on a old cassette hub. and since you are using so many spacers you can make sure you get the chain line right .
     
  16. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    brillliant!

    I do have several laying around. I suppose I could use other loose gears as spacers too if I need 'em. Make some sort of Death Race 2000 'cassette' :D
     
  17. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    How could you not when they produce quality products like this:

     
  18. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep/Likes:
    29 / 153
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction

    Because over time the load is distributed over the whole cassette as opposed to all the load on a single cog all the time.
     
  19. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
  20. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep/Likes:
    29 / 153
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction
    I guess it only applys to fatasses like me.

     
  21. MMcG

    MMcG Ride till you puke!

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 4
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    15,466
    Location:
    Burlington, Connecticut
    Do not buy that Gusset SS conversion kit with the thin cog. The Cog is too thin and you have virtually no chainline adjustability.

    Get an Endless Fibanacci spacer kit and an Endless Kickass Cog, or a Surly Cog or an One One or Niner bikes Cog. Something that is wide and won't gouge.
     
  22. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    nah, you just have legs like Petacchi....nothing wrong with that! :)
     
  23. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    so I measured the rear drop-outs... 120mm.

    I can't imagine that the 9-speed wheel will fit back there? I assume the freewheel assembly that holds the cassette canNOT be seperated from the hub?

    Is the only way that I can use this wheel is rebuild it with a single-speed hub?
     
  24. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep/Likes:
    29 / 153
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction
    Your Lager is only 120mm?

    Typical road wheels are 130mm.
     
  25. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    well, the Lager was designed as a single-speed, so I suppose that's reasonable?

    So you're saying that there's no way to put the wheels I have lying around to use? No worries, just clarifying.
     
  26. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep/Likes:
    29 / 153
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction
    That's what you get for buying a bike made by a BMX company.:busted:


    The original redline monocogs used 120, too.





    You can stretch a steel frame a little(126mm -->130mm), but 10mm seems a bit much, but it might work.
     
  27. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    I thought ALL SS were 120mm? Are you saying bikes like Langster, Pista, Rush Hour, etc are 130-135mm?
     
  28. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep/Likes:
    29 / 153
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction


    Fixies are narrow, but I would think most companies go with a more normal spacing on the singlespeeds. I could be wrong.
     
  29. James

    James Carbon Porn Star

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Danbury, CT
    Fixies tend to use track bike wheel spacing, which is 120mm. Surly makes a really nice track hub that's threaded for both fixed and freewheel, in 120mm. You can buy some decently cheap wheels through QBP...
     
  30. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    I thought QBP only sold to LBSs? Can end-users buy direct?
     
  31. James

    James Carbon Porn Star

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Danbury, CT
    Sorry, I meant you could order them through a shop. No end users.
     
  32. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    cool. Silly question, can I see what QBP sells online and then tell my LBS?
     
  33. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep/Likes:
    29 / 153
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction

    Loco says that this is the Quality catalog --> http://aebike.com/index.cfm
     
  34. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
  35. James

    James Carbon Porn Star

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Danbury, CT
    I think Quality has an electronic catalog that retailers can put online, so it's easier to offer the full line of stuff to people.