Quantcast

Crowded Downhill practice

VT Mtbkr

Monkey
Oct 3, 2003
Richmond, Virginia
Ok so instead of jacking the other post I thought I'd start my own.
I'm new to downhill and really enjoy riding with friends but when it comes to a crowded race weekend I hate it. I don't like being in constant fear of getting run over. (not that that's going to happen most people are nice about it) I just freak out at the sound of someone coming up on me at mock 1 speed.

Do any other women dislike practice simply because of the traffic on the trail? Am I going to get over this fear as I get better and faster?

SuperKat

Monkey
Jul 3, 2005
New York
I only raced a couple of times last year. I hated it too. I tried to get there early and take a few runs on the practice day before it got too crowded.
I haven't raced this year yet. I'm more into the freeride aspect of the sport this season.

profro

Turbo Monkey
Feb 25, 2002
Walden Ridge
VT Mtbkr said:
Am I going to get over this fear as I get better and faster?

Yes.

If you stick with it and race enough you will get past this. When I moved up to Semi-pro and had to practice with the likes of Sam Hill, I was constantly worried about getting in the way. But after a year of racing in this category I don't even worry about it anymore. If I hear someone behind me, I simply move over.

Snacks

Turbo Monkey
Feb 20, 2003
GO! SEAHAWKS!
Totally! It sucks if you are just riding the course to get a good look at everthing and have some rushing up behind you.

I have gotten used to it by having my BF ride behind me as often as possible XC and DH so it doesn't bother me as much.

weimie

Monkey
May 11, 2006
Boulder, CO