Quantcast

Dh bike buying advice needed

KarenB

Chimp
Mar 31, 2004
London, UK
Hi guys,

I need some advice on buying my first dh bike. I've been riding all my life, albeit mainly commuting and some xc, but since being back at uni have joined the cycling team. Although i started out doing cross country on my rather inept marin, i have since been seriously bitten by the dh bug! Mainly due to riding at bringewood.

Anyway, if anyone can give me advice, or point me in the right direction (bearing in mind I'm still learning in the technical dept!), I'd be really grateful. I reckon i have a buget of 2k (for kit as well).

Cheers.
:)

Lexx D

Dirty Dozen
Mar 8, 2004
NY
Best bang for the buck:Iron horse, specialized, giant. I think you'll be happy either way
:D

FlipSide

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2001
I'd advise NOT buying a big DH bike with 8-9 inches of travel.

I find that lighter freeride bikes with less travel are much better for learning. For examble, a Cannondale Gemini could be a nice choice.

Big E

Monkey
Jan 22, 2004
Hell Paso Texas
yeah something with around 7in is primo for a first dh bike. the of bighit comps have 7.5 the 03 has like 6.2 or look for a used bullit. the are awsome bikes. can be built really light or really heavy. but you might look away from the something you can only fit a24 in the rear. and for a rear shock look for the fox vanilla rc. it is great to start out on.

Peace

downy

Monkey
Dec 3, 2003
Annandale, VA
Truly the best bike to start out with for dh would be a hardtail like a .243 racing 4130. That frame can take a lot of abuse and is cheap for what you get. A hardtail dh bike will save a lot of money and you will learn to ride much smoother on a hardtail.