Quantcast

Fetish cycles

Sandwich

Pig my fish!
Staff member
May 23, 2002
borcester rhymes
Are these bikes any good? I have my eye on a "illustre", which is for sale used nearby, and is full carbon. $850 for fork crank, SP, HS and stem. Decent deal, or keep looking?

I'm a beginner roadie looking to compete in triathlons and put some long miles in. I already have a great set of wheels but need everything else.

ire

Turbo Monkey
Aug 6, 2007
Never ridden em, but the frame is nice looking and that price is awesome

Sandwich

Pig my fish!
Staff member
May 23, 2002
borcester rhymes
yeah that's the one... I know raleigh makes a decent low-end carbon frame, but I can't find any info on the illustre.

SuspectDevice

Turbo Monkey
Aug 23, 2002
Roanoke, VA
That's a little expensive for a generic frame, i'd say. Most importantly, it doesn't have good geometry to work with aerobars. Ideally you want a seat angle at least in the high 74's, if not closer to 78, and shorter front center/ slacker head angle, more fork rake for correct handling.

Sandwich

Pig my fish!
Staff member
May 23, 2002
borcester rhymes
do you mean for triathlons, or in general? I know the geometry is different for tris, but honestly, I'll be competing in sprint distance tris that I could probably do on my schwinn homegrown, but would rather do on a proper road bike.

maddog17

Turbo Monkey
Jan 20, 2008
Methuen, Mass. U.S.A.
if your just looking for a generic carbon frame, ebay's not a bad place to look. plenty of those taiwan made framesets on there for cheap money. i was looking at one myself and it was frame, fork, seatpost and 2 bottle cages i think for like $450. 12k carbon weave too i think.

SuspectDevice

Turbo Monkey
Aug 23, 2002
Roanoke, VA
do you mean for triathlons, or in general? I know the geometry is different for tris, but honestly, I'll be competing in sprint distance tris that I could probably do on my schwinn homegrown, but would rather do on a proper road bike.