Quantcast

good deal on a dell?

corey_rideDC

Turbo Monkey
Sep 1, 2004
DCmetro
hey puter monkeys,

looking to upgrade my home system and i was wondering if this is as good a deal as i think it is...

Dimension 9150
Pentium® D Processor 930 with Dual Core Technology (3GHz, 800FSB), Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition

Memory
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz - 2 DIMMs

Hard Drives
160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™

Dual Drives: 16x DVD-ROM Drive + 48x CD-RW Drive

Monitors
19 inch Ultrasharp™ 1905FP Digital Flat Panel

Video Cards
256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) nVidia GeForce 6800

Sound
Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio

$1,109 after $100 mail-in rebate
i'm a graphic/web designer and do a lot of multimedia. my home machine needs to be fast and reliable.

any suggestions/opinions?

narlus

Eastcoast Softcore
Staff member
Nov 7, 2001
behind the viewfinder
are there two monitors included?

H8R spec'd me a killer machine for about $1K in total, which i assembled (w/ BV). if you go the same route, you could save some $, esp if you have a copy of xp you can install. however, my build reused some existing stuff (monitor, keyboard, mouse, optical drives), and it was hard drive-heavy.

corey_rideDC

Turbo Monkey
Sep 1, 2004
DCmetro
just one 19" digital LCD included.

i've been looking at a lot of those 'custom' online vendors and i can't get a comparable machine with a monitor for under $1500. i plan on reusing my keyboard, mouse, 250Gb drive & 80Gb external drive.

no way i'd trust myself to build my own machine. you should see the damage i can do with a hub and a few cone wrenches...

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
That's a very decent deal. Not screaming, but not bad either.