Quantcast

How many chinups can you do?

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
For you people that workout, how many chinups can you do? That's palms facing out.

I've been working out for about six years, and just starting doing chinups a few months ago. I started on an assist machine using about 70 lbs of assist. This morning I did two sets of six reps with no assist. That's bringing my chin above the bar, and locking my elbows out on the way down. Once I can get up to 10-12 reps, I'll start to add weight using a waist belt.

Toshi

Harbinger of Doom
Oct 23, 2001
wow. i can do about 4, no assist, these days. back in the wrestling days (read: 50 lbs. lighter) i'd do 2 sets of 15 during each practice... :eek: :dead:

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
Originally posted by Tenchiro
What is the difference when your palms face out that make them harder?
When your palms face out, you are using mostly your back muscles to do the exercise. When your palms face in, you use your biceps more to assist. I can do 10-12 with palms facing in.

Lucee

govenor
Jan 16, 2002
nor cal
Originally posted by monkeywench
Palms in: 15-20 depending
Palms out: 10 on a good day

Wow, that's awesome! I was going to brag that I could do 4, but maybe I'm much heavier than you?;)

Now that I can't use my arm, none, but maybe one day I will rival you!!!:D

monkeywench

Chimp
Mar 26, 2003
movin' on...
Originally posted by Lucee
Wow, that's awesome! I was going to brag that I could do 4, but maybe I'm much heavier than you?;)
Now that I can't use my arm, none, but maybe one day I will rival you!!!:D
It's all core strength baby. Admittedly, it's been tougher since I surpassed the big 3-0. I attribute the core strength to years of gymnastics when I was a kid--very good for chinups.
Lucee, there's a retired heavyweight boxer at my gym, he does sets of one-armed chinups---maybe that will be you. :)

jimmydean

The Official Meat of Ridemonkey
Sep 10, 2001