Quantcast

How much should I be lifting?

Spunger

Git yer dumb questions here
Feb 19, 2003
I know this is a dumb question but I've never done this before, mainly lifting weights.

I've found some websites that show basic exercises for chest, back, legs, arms etc...which help me because I have 200lbs of freeweights. I can squat/dead lift it no problem but the other exercises I don't know what my "range" should be, or better yet what sorta of system I should use to go up in weight as I know I won't gain muscle if I always just lift the same amount.

I've got a heart rate monitor for my cardio stuff. I've learned that no matter what, at 3.0 mph I can keep my heart rate in the mid 130's which is the lower part of my "range" according to the polar monitor. 3.2 or 3.3 mph gets me into the middle. I do that for 30 minutes. I'm trying to do this everyday. So the cardio portion is off to a good start.

It's the weights I'm finding I am funny with. I weigh 241lbs as of right now. This last week I've gotten my diet under control so I figured it's a good time to start. I try the bench press and I can do 100lbs by the 3rd set 8-9 times before I feel like it's too much. But that seems to be my max (well without someone spotting me). When I was in probably the best shape of my life I could only do 100lbs or so 10 times, and maxed at 1 time 150lbs. I was probably 185-195 at that point. So I really have very little upper body strength. But at the same time I never lifted to do anything other than what was required for PE or track. Now.......I'd like to gain some muscle and have the tools to do so.

I do alternate muscle groups (arms/chest/shoulders/back) so I know that is a must. I know not to lift more than I can keep good form. I know that if it hurts somethings wrong. But I'd like to know how much weight should I be doing to gain muscle? If I can get my brother to spot me on the days that I want to try harder on the bench press and such that'd be fine (maybe once a week).