Quantcast

I need some advice on technique

Sep 10, 2001
Vancouver, BC
I'm just getting into dirt jumping. My question is, after you hit the first jump in a rythm section, how do you keep going. I just find that after landing the first jump, I'm never ready to keep going. Any advice?

Ian F

Turbo Monkey
Sep 8, 2001
Philadelphia area
start with small jumps - 2' or less - and with a four-pack. Keep practicing them until you can do them in your sleep. Then add a 3rd set and work on hitting bigger jumps.

The secret is to pump down the landing of the first jump and carry speed into hte next jump(s). Done correctly, you can actually gain speed and jump higher and farther. THis is why when you see long rhythm sections the jumps usually get bigger as they go along.

I'm in there with you... still learning... but it's a ton of fun!:thumb:

Ian F

Turbo Monkey
Sep 8, 2001
Philadelphia area
...and relax! Being stiff and rigid on the bike will kill your speed and flow.

I guess another part of making that second jump is hitting the first with confidence, taking for granted you will clear it. Be looking at the second jump before you land the first.

Of course, practice and be comfortable with the first jump.

BMXman

I wish I was Canadian
Sep 8, 2001
Victoria, BC
Originally posted by Daniel(Canada)
I'm just getting into dirt jumping. My question is, after you hit the first jump in a rythm section, how do you keep going. I just find that after landing the first jump, I'm never ready to keep going. Any advice?
I would say just keep riding and focus on nose-diving and learning how to pump through the rhythm section.....You will get it with time,be patient and don't rush it....a full face helmet is always a good idea when learning rhythm....JMO.....D

S

seth399