Quantcast

Is this a good first mountain bike?

MTBracer

Monkey
Nov 19, 2007
Massachusetts
Are you getting it from a department store or a bike shop? that looks like a department store bike, and for $350 you can get a better hardtail. Probably not a full suspension for that much much, but definitely a good hardtail for light use. Oh, if you don't know, hardtail means only front suspension. I suggest going to a professional bike shop and see what they can hook you up with. You'll only be disappointed with a bike from a department store.

Mikehenryjr

Chimp
Aug 12, 2008
Yeah that bike is from a department store. I am going to go to a bike shop and see what they have as well. This was just a starting point. I am new to the mountain bike world and have lots to learn.

What should I look for in a mountain bike? What do you think about used bikes?

I live in San Diego so I am pretty sure there are lots of places to go riding. I do not need to crazy of a setup. I just want something where I can go ride and enjoy the outdoors.

Thanks for any advice you have.

Mike

Zark

Hey little girl, do you want some candy?
Oct 18, 2001
Reno 911
San Diego does have a lot of good trails, good place to ride ;)

Bikes: At $350 you should get a hardtail from a bikeshop. I'd avoid full suspension bike until $1500 and up. If you are new to riding I'd avoid used bikes, there's too many potential problems to arise that might get frustrating. Don't forget the essentials! A quality helmet that fits you, good gloves and shorts and a camelbak and basic repair tools. Pump, tire levers and a multi-tool. Try to save a few more bucks if you can too ;)

MTBracer

Monkey
Nov 19, 2007
Massachusetts