Quantcast

lifting and riding the same day?

ito

Mr. Schwinn Effing Armstrong
Oct 3, 2003
Avoiding the nine to five
I've heard a few things about cardio and weight lifting on the same day is not good for you because it doesn't allow the muscle fibers to repair well enough. Despite this, it is a really nice day and I want to go riding, plus I plan on doing some road training at least 4 times a week this spring.

So today I did a rather intense arm workout at about 10:30 and finished around 11:30. Would I be ok riding around 4 o'clock or would I be better off putting the ride off until tommorrow when I am fully recovered? I know a few of you monkeys hit the iron pretty regularily, I'm new to this(been lifting seriously for about 8 weeks) and don't want to be messing up my workouts.

The Ito

Heidi

Der hund ist laut und braun
Aug 22, 2001
Bend, Oregon
I'd weight (hahah get it) until tomorrow. I only do a light spin the days I lift. That way my muscles can fully recover.

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
You should be ok. Once in a while won't kill you. Just make sure you eat enough recovery food to make up for all the calories burned.

I have lifted and ridden on the same day plenty of times. It's a great way to shed pounds. :D

ET_SoCal

Monkey
Aug 10, 2001
C-Me Valley, CA
I tried the routine of lifting and riding the same day.
I'd work-out the upper body & core {only} on the morning & ride in the afternoon... :monkey:

After 2 months I felt tired all the time, not worn-down, just kinda tired-like you know? :dead:

Changed to upper body weights one day & ride next.
Been on the same routine for 5 years now. :D

I think that's the issue, it's OK for a little while, but if if you get into the habbit{routine} of working out all the time, you can break down muscles more than building them up. :cool:

Toshi

Harbinger of Doom
Oct 23, 2001