Quantcast

Locking bicycles up in open truck bed ?

Spunger

Git yer dumb questions here
Feb 19, 2003
Hey guys,

I like to walk with my girlfriend and then ride the bike sometimes. I need to lock the bike up to the truck bed though first. Any idea/products out there that allow you to lock the bike up in the truck bed (I.E. to the truck bed) but that is secure so it can't be removed? I have a thick giant masterlock chain (was like $40-50) that seems like it'd be hard to cut (especially in a private park).

I have some hoops on the sides of my bed but the chain isn't long enough and the hooks aren't big enough. SO I imprivise with a U-lock and my lock but would like the idea of one single lock/device much better.

bballe336

Turbo Monkey
Mar 3, 2005
MA
Well when you leave the bikes in the truck (even when locked) they can easily be stolen. A big set of shears will do wonders to a chain. Buy one of the kryptonite locks so you can get your bikes covered if they do get stolen.

blue

boob hater
Jan 24, 2004
california
No lock will safeguard your bike. I have yet to come upon a consumer method that isn't gotten through (Be it picking, breaking, etc). Generally speaking, a lock is a deterrent and a time waster for a thief. The more locks, the merrier. Hence, my suggestion is to lock up your bike with 2 or 3 sturdy locks. :)

Also, Masterlock sucks. Easy to pick.

PatBranch

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2004
wine country
I was thinking about a cover like:

http://www.softopper.com

But, it's $600.

Or, you could have made or make a canvas sheet that would (maybe mount at the top/rear of the cab) go over the bikes (ending at the tailgate). Then you could connect to the bed rails somehow. If done right, it wouldn't look bad.

The latter would definitely be cheaper, but might not detter/hide from theft. It would certainly keep the bikes clean/dry and help arodynamics.

lovebunny

can i lick your balls?
Dec 14, 2003
San Diego, California, United States
mtnbrider said: