Quantcast

looking at these bikes

jeremy155rr

Chimp
Oct 8, 2004
okay, so i'm not really a beginner, but i hung it up (mtb) back in '00. alot has changed imo and i'm looking to get back into it. i'm an agressive xc rider that just likes to go out and have fun for hours on end. i need some opinions on some bikes i'm looking at...

stumpy pro 120
santa cruz blur
rocky mountain etsx70
rocky mountain slayer

i just need some more input b4 throwing down all that cash so anything is appreciated

jeremy155rr

Chimp
Oct 8, 2004
that wasn't in my lookout because i thought it might be a little too plush... i may want to xc race someday... could it handle it? (better than others that are more xc oriented)?
btw, nice avi, thongs are nice!

biggins

Rump Junkie
May 18, 2003
well, as you ride you will progress. the heckler is way more versatile. about the only difference is the coil shock and a couple more gussets. i have a friend that has a heckler and he is very xc oriented but it also allows you to go bigger if you come across something you wanna hit.................like my avatar

Skookum

bikey's is cool
Jul 26, 2002
in a bear cave
I'm not sure if any of the bikes you mention in your list would be anything but entry level XC racing bikes for fun. i may be wrong since i don't race, but biggins has a valid point that the Heckler would be more capable of taking a beating, and since you noted you are into aggressive xc we have to assume you like beating the hell out of your bike on trail rides. good luck.

jeremy155rr

Chimp
Oct 8, 2004
Skookum said:
I'm not sure if any of the bikes you mention in your list would be anything but entry level XC racing bikes for fun.
not quite sure i get what your sayin there... are you saying that all of those rides seem entry level to you?
2. all those rides are too trail bike oriented for serious xc racing, but they would be okay to race xc for fun?
3. if i'm way off.,. what would you consider to be a real serious xc racing bike and why?

blue