Quantcast

metabolism question

mrsdove

Chimp
Aug 7, 2002
Denver, CO
my metabolism is out of control. I wake up during the night starving...my stomach is growling. I eat a good, healthy meal and 1.5 hours later my stomach is growling. I'm always hungry! I've been riding the same amount of miles for about 4 months now.

Any ideas on what to eat or do so I don't feel like this anymore? I can't exactly be taking breaks to eat every hour at work and I am tired of waking up starving at 3 am.

Heidi

Der hund ist laut und braun
Aug 22, 2001
Bend, Oregon
I get like this during the season. I don't eat big meals, instead I eat small ones every 2.5-3 hours. This will keep your blood sugar, and energy level constant. Just snacks really, but good, healthy snacks. I still wake up starving at night, but I can't see how to fix that. Heck - I'm asleep for 8 hours at least!

Try spreading your eating out over the day with quick snacks. Some ideas: instant oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, crackers, popcorn, nuts w/raisins, pretzels, fig newtons, tuna, graham crackers w/ peanut butter...

JMAC

Turbo Monkey
Feb 18, 2002
Ya do what heidi says you don't want to be eating like 3 big meals a day. Like say you have diner at 6pm than than thats all you eat before sleep you will devinently wake up hungry a 3am. Make sure you eat before you go to bed.

mrsdove

Chimp
Aug 7, 2002
Denver, CO
Originally posted by JMAC
Ya do what heidi says you don't want to be eating like 3 big meals a day. Like say you have diner at 6pm than than thats all you eat before sleep you will devinently wake up hungry a 3am. Make sure you eat before you go to bed.
Eat before you go to bed. Has to be the best advice ever. I'm going to try the small meals/snack thing and see how it goes. I'm just tired of being hungry all the time, but this should work. Thanks!

Roasted

Turbo Monkey
Jul 4, 2002
Whistler, BC