Quantcast

Need help choosing a new bike

travisto

Chimp
Nov 6, 2001
Hello, I'm looking for some advice on choosing a new bike. I am pretty much a beginner, I've been riding every chance i get for about 3 or 4 months, but my old bike isn't meant for the riding i've been doing, and its falling apart rapidly. I work at a store where i can get awesome employee discounts on these brands: Fisher, Kona, Giant, Cannondale, and some others. I'm looking at the $1000 to $1200 range (before my discount), and I'm having a tough time deciding whether or not to go full suspension. Whatever the bike, I need it to be somewhat light and have decent components. The trails I ride are pretty undulating and rocky, so I'm leaning toward a dual suspension bike. Ive heard great things about Giant's XTC NRS models, but i would appreciate anyone's help and opinions.

thanks. Travis.

R

RaytheHammer

Hi Travisto and group :)
You my friend, are lucky enough to work in a place that you can get a discount on a lot of great bikes. All the companies you listed make some great quality rides. I have had both full and front suspension bikes and the 2 things that will matter most are that the bike fits right and also what kind of rider you are.
I am very smooth on the trail and tend to pick great lines, so full suspension was overkill for me. (That may be because of my roadie background). A front suspension only bike seems faster to me, but a full suspension will give ya all day comfort.
FWIW I have a cannondale front suspension bike and thats the ride I have become happiest with on the trail.

BullBiker

Chimp
Nov 5, 2001
Flatland Florida