Quantcast

Need help how to setup my bike for jumps (M9 + Dorado)

UncleHowie

Chimp
Feb 9, 2011
Switzerland
Hey guys I need some help!
I'm fast on technical,loose and steep trails but as soon as there are jumps or drops I'm riding like a total beginner. I know it's mostly a mental thing but I would like to make my bike more predictable on jumps, I usually have problems with nose diving over jumps/drops.

My bike:
Intense M9 with CCDB
- HA: 64 degrees (0 cup)
- Progression: Middle
- Travel: 9.5"
- Chainstay: Middle
- Dorado is pretty firm
- Bar with 5 mm rise (would more rise be better for jumps?)

Besides jumping I think my bike rides really great

DMdh

Monkey
Oct 26, 2011
Galicia
If you have problems with nose diving I would try slowing the rebound in the back end 2 clicks and taking 1 in the front.

Moreover, try not to be nervous before jumping that makes you being stiff and in the back of the bike. I had the same problems as you nosediving on jumps, and something I found is that having a more relaxed and upright (centered) position on the bike and pulling the handelbars a little at the same time that you pump the transition with the pedals solved the problem or at least the most of it.

Nick

My name is Nick
Sep 21, 2001
where the trails are
Set up your bike and suspension for the trails you ride, then learn to jump 'that' bike. Making adjustments to cater to a weakness in your riding isn't helpful in the long run. Make YOU more predictable on jumps.

Know what I mean?

BigHitComp04

Monkey
Jun 20, 2005
Morgantown, WV