Quantcast

Need some new enduro gear

xemini

Monkey
Nov 4, 2004
Switching over from downhill to enduro and looking at getting some new gear. I'm pretty much between specialized and fox gear what my shop can get. Not exactly sure what else they can maybe se7en I heard they make good knee pads. Any suggestions as I'm new to enduro. Want some comfy knee pads and some new lighter enduro shoes to replace my old fiveten's that are a bit heavy. Also need some new helmets(full face and regular). Thanks for your opinions

slimshady

¡Mira, una ardilla!
I'm not racing but doing AM rides with friends, so take my input with a pinch of salt.

The Shimano Enduro line of shoes is affordable, comfy and durable. Plus they suit my narrow feet pretty well, and have a good compromise between walking and pedaling. They won't kill your lower back when hiking, and they won't sink the cleat in your feet when riding.

A friend has a set of Seven IDP knee guards and likes them so far, although they're a bit hot in the summer. I'm using the long version of TLD's Shock Doktors (the 5450 I believe) and find them to be pretty solid, transpirable and true to size.

CheetaMike

Monkey
Jul 17, 2016
Whonnock BC Canada
I run the 7IDP and like them , I would like to try a smaller size , mine are the Transition Wrap Knee .

I had the RF Indy , and they tear really quickly , IMO they are a better leg warmer then a pad .

If I was looking for a pad for Enduro racing I would look at the 7IDP Flex Knee/Shin combo .

As for shoes , used 5/10,s I prefer the Shimano AM7, work well in the wet and muck ,and after spending several 6hrs race days in them ,they are a foot saver .

Helmets

I prefer a fullface and use the Urge Archi Enduro , but am upgrading to the newer version , or the Fox Proframe in the next few months .

Last edited:

Metamorphic

Monkey
May 12, 2015
Cackalack