Quantcast

newb shock pump question

sp0om

Chimp
Feb 29, 2004
i got my first bike with a suspension fork last summer and its quite nice. the only problem i have is keeping it in tip top shape. sometimes after rides, the fork is noticeably more saggy, and it becomes difficult to ride without taking it to the shop.

the suspension fork i am using it a "Answer Manitou Six Comp, 3.15" travel". do i need a specific type of shock pump, or will any do the job? i am very new to all of this and any advice and/or recommendations would be very much appreciated

RhinofromWA

Brevity R Us
Aug 16, 2001
Lynnwood, WA
Heck I thought they are coil/bumper forks.......

is it an air fork? This isn't to insult you (Becuase I don't know the answer either) are you sure this is an air fork?

Does the shop pump it up for you? Ask them what pump you need.

sp0om

Chimp
Feb 29, 2004
hmm.. im not exactly sure if its an air or not. now im terribly confused :confused:

here are some pics i just took:

RhinofromWA

Brevity R Us
Aug 16, 2001
Lynnwood, WA
Originally posted by sp0om
hmm.. im not exactly sure if its an air or not. now im terribly confused :confused:

here are some pics i just took:

Well if it is coil/bumper fork....a pump aint going to help you.

I can't tell by the pictures if it is or not. Is there a schreader valve somewhere you can see? I am pretty sure it is not air.....but they make so many diff types of forks these days....air and spring with the same designation. I don't care much to keep them straight.

I don't know what the shop does to fix your fork...maybe lube it. Does it have lube ports near the seals?

Ask the shop next time you are in....air or spring. Then you can go about figuring out how to fix it.

DHRacer

The Rev
Oct 8, 2001
IF it is an air shock, you will need a shock pump... not just any pump will do.

IF it's oil/coil... do you notice any oil leakage?