Quantcast

newbie checkin in

Twice

Chimp
Jul 22, 2004
Hey everyone, just thought I drop in and say hi. Total Cycling newbie here, and getting slowly started. I bought myself a low end FS Mongoose to basically just get some exercise and train a little for motorcycle racing. Anyway, I know I'll get flamed for the Mongoose, but it works just fine for what I do. I live just outside of Detroit, and it's nothing but paved roads and parking lots. I am able to make it out to some parks on the weekend, but it's mostly paved bike/rollerblade trails.

I do need a little advise though. I'm starting to get into some longer distances (well longer to me anyway) of about 10 - 12 miles or so at a time. The seat is killin me. Any good recommendations for baggy cycling shorts with good padding? Are those seat covers effective, or should I just drop some money on a better seat?

Also, it got kinda wet yesterday, and I noticed my feet were slipping on the pedals. So I was thinking of getting a better pedal (budget concious) and maybe a pair of cycling shoes. If you guys have any recommendations I'd appreciate it a lot.

Thanks in advance!

Skookum

bikey's is cool
Jul 26, 2002
in a bear cave
First of all welcome to biking without cheating (motor) ;) and welcome to Ridemonkey.:)

Twice said:
I do need a little advise though. I'm starting to get into some longer distances (well longer to me anyway) of about 10 - 12 miles or so at a time. The seat is killin me. Any good recommendations for baggy cycling shorts with good padding? Are those seat covers effective, or should I just drop some money on a better seat?