Quantcast

Newbie with a Kona Stuff '02

newstuff

Chimp
May 29, 2002
Alberta
hey people

I'm not new to biking, but I am new to doing jumps and hopping curbs and riding skinnies, etc. Well, here's the deal, i bought a cheap Sears bike about 2 years ago and have been riding it up untill about 3 days ago when I finally bought myself a Kona Stuff.

Anyhow, as life would have it, I think that I've already slightly (very slightly) bent my rims. I mean these are DitchWitch DH rims that are supposed to hold up to (what I think) more hardcore biking than what i've been doing. All I've tried is bunny hopping (which i still can't do), doing about 1 foot drops, and hopping up onto curbs (not bunny hopping, just kinda hopping the whole bike at once while going fast).

Is this normal for rims to lose their straightness so quickly? Just today I was readjusting how my front tire was in the fork, so that I could get the perfect alignment where my brakes weren't rubbing against it every turn or so. Oh, and my back tire seems outta wack too, but no biggie. Right now i'm thinking about the day that I first bought my bike and how straight the rims were...:(

I hope that i'm not the only one with this problem!

PS: Can anyone tell me what muscles i should work out in order to be able to bunny hop better? I'm 5'5'' with a 15'' frame and can't bunny hop.

FSU

Chimp
Mar 11, 2002
Park Ridge. The land of NO!
These are new rims? If they are new rims like to go out of true if there not hand built. Hand built ones last longer. it just sounds like your spoke tention is off or something, there probily just out of true which is no big deal if you get them straightend right they wont go out of true as fast.

mutasmurf

Chimp
Feb 16, 2002
Bellingham, WA