Quantcast

Normal to be sore?

jamester

Chimp
Mar 28, 2006
Durham, NC
Hi:

I'm a newbie with a Rockhopper. Haven't ridden in years. I just wanted some assurance that feeling sore is okay, and that I'll work through it. It'll take a while, but it will go away, right? (At least as far as theory goes?)

I'm finding I have a very rough time on hills, even when I drop the gear so that the pedalling is easier.

Part of the problem is that at 270 pounds, I'm just not that used to exercise in the first place.

Needless to say, I'm going to keep pushing. I'm going to get a cycle computer so that I can push myself each ride to go just a little farther - I'm determined to push past!!

I can't wait to see the weight start dropping... that should help my endurance too, no?

Thanks,
James

Westy

the teste
Nov 22, 2002
Sleazattle
If you haven't been riding you will be sore. The soreness will go away. Just keep working at it and most importantly have fun.

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
After locking my bike up, I went past the front desk and the receptionist, who knows I ride 7 days a week, said I look tired. I replied, "Yeah, I exercise too much".

I might not feel great every day, but the days I am resting, I feel a lot better than when I don't ride for months...

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
yes, you'll be sore.

ADVICE: Don't ride for exercise as you'll get frustrated and burned out... ride for fun. :)

rigidhack

Turbo Monkey
Aug 16, 2004
In a Van(couver) down by the river
Skip the computer idea. Makes it too much like a job (I HAVE to go farther/faster - or what?) Find a trail that you like -good scenery and all that. Then just explore the area more and more.

You will definitely be sore. It will go away, just ride more.

jamester

Chimp
Mar 28, 2006
Durham, NC