Quantcast

Numb Hands

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
No changes to my bike (5010 gen 2) since last season, but at the end of last season and throughout the winter I started riding moto in the woods, bought a new house this spring and haven't ridden a whole hell of a lot. But the few times I have gotten out on the pedally bike my hands go numb, to the point where I can't tell if my fingers are actually on the brake levers when I need to use them. Again, no changes to the mountain bike. Only major thing I can think of is riding the dirt bike has me accustomed to being in a different position, and I haven't ridden much....

Any suggestions as far as fit on the MTB would go?

Flo33

Turbo Monkey
Mar 3, 2015
Styria
I would try a different handlebar, IMMO varying back- and upsweep have the most influence on numb hands. I always had the same problems when I was off the mtb for a while and only rode my road bike prior.

Mike87

Chimp
Aug 8, 2011
Hauser, Idaho
I have several MTB's and they each have a different riding position. I notice numb hands more on one than the other. I do believe that the riding position will have an affect on your numbness. On the bike where I am stretched out a bit more, there seems to be less numbing than the one that is a bit shorter. Take that for what it is worth.

I too ride off road motorcycles and suffer from numb hands on that as well. Some has to do with the fact that I shattered my right wrist when I was little and am still seeing the effects of it on my riding today (40 years later).

Oh crap, that made me feel really old.

StiHacka

Compensating for something
Jan 4, 2013
In hell. Welcome!
Try to rotate the bar a couple degrees forth and back, that makes a difference for me. The combination of up/back sweep will make different parts of your wrist carry the weight at different angles.

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI