Quantcast

Please write to NORBA, Help me solve the US National Championships puzzle

Status
Not open for further replies.

BRIANBUELL

Monkey
Nov 17, 2005
Boulder, Colorado
Hey everyone, If your not happy with the current US National Championships situation, you can make a difference. I Just wrote to the CEO of Norba Steve Johnson and Board Member Jim Ochowicz providing them with altrinate ideas with a positive note. Help me try to change the minds of NORBA. All negative naysayers need not reply as you will do nothing to help. Thanks, we can make a difference!

sjohnson@usacycling.org, jochowicz@tweisel.com
:help:
Dear Steve Johnson and Jim Ochowicz
My name is Brian Buell, NORBA # 218052, I am a Semi Pro Gravity Rider racing for RotecCycles and I will be traveling to many Venues this year including, Mt St Ann Canada, Snowmass, Vermont, US Open ect... These places make for great races becuase of the Vertical Drop, important for DH. Great terrain and a long 3-6 min course that will weed out the men from the boys. Now after presenting this information, it is obvious that Sonoma and the Infinion Raceway is not a proper place to hold a large DH event, let alone the National Championships. A raceway might be a great place for a XC race and mountaincross but holds no place for a world class, supposivly, DH race that will crown the best rider in the nation. This course will not showcase the best overall DH rider but only the best sprinter due to the lack of terrain(rocks, roots, logs ect). This needs to be changed. The possible solution that has been discussed by many is Deer Valley holding the DH NAT Champs the week before Sanoma. This is a great course perfect for a NAT Championship as it is very popular among DH riders of all classes. I was planning on attending Mammoth for the Nats but since this change was made i have absolutely no desire on attending a Nats at Sonoma. I look foreward to riding NORBA every year and esspecially the National Championships but of the loo