Quantcast

questions on technique and fitness

Trek Boy

Chimp
Aug 28, 2001
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
hey guys,

im somewhat new to the mtb sceen. i really just started riding over the last year or so and i have a pretty nice bike (i've basically put a lot of the parts on it myself and replaced a lot of the factory parts). neways my questions concern both technique and fitness. first off, im a 250 lbs, 6' 1" 16 year old and am looking to do this for both enjoyment and fitness.
now i was wondering if its possible for a person of my weight to really be able to do wheelies and jump and stuff like that?
if so could you tell me how i can practise and perfect these techniques to make it more fun and enjoyable!

thanks a lot,

Trek Boy

Toshi

Harbinger of Doom
Oct 23, 2001
Ride as much as you can, and watch bike vids when you can't. Surfing ridemonkey helps, too. ;) Ok, maybe it doesn't.

ÆX

Turbo Monkey
Sep 8, 2001
NM
find some pals who have the same interests as
you, skying AIR. get a short stem 40-70mm.
some platform pedals and schin pads.

DHRacer

The Rev
Oct 8, 2001
Originally posted by Toshi
Ride as much as you can, and watch bike vids when you can't. Surfing ridemonkey helps, too. ;) Ok, maybe it doesn't.
This is good advice... anyone can ride and do tricks, it doesn't matter how big or small you are... it just takes pracitce.

I also agree that when you can't ride, try to watch other riders, in person, in video, whatever... I know i learn by watching others... I especially do this for racing, watching other people's lines, speed, body position on the bike, everything... it all helps!!!

Oh and Welcome to RM!!!:thumb:

BikeGeek

BrewMonkey
Jul 2, 2001
Hershey, PA