Quantcast

Riding and Wild Animals

bitingback

Turbo Monkey
OK...so i'm a noob rider, riding every weekend at lake saltonstall in CT...for the most part i'm out there by myself. and as i get deeper into the woods...i always get freaked by the possibility of running into a wild animal and what i would do.

has anyone had any experiences or suggestions.

i've been told by the RWA that own the land that there can be black bear, wild cats and coyotes...coyotes being the more common and threatening of the group.

JRogers

talks too much
Mar 19, 2002
Claremont, CA
Yeah, the best advice is not to worry about it. I have been riding, hiking, camping and backpacking and rarely see animals more threatening that chipmunks and garden snakes. The whole "they are just as afraid of you" thing is completely true. Prevention is the best option- make your presence known in the woods , let people know you went for a ride, etc. If you see something that could threaten you, it's best just to keep your distance and go the other way. The chances of even seeing a threatening animal are pretty small, the chances of getting close to it are smaller and the chances of being attacked are utterly remote.

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
You won't see a bear. They'll hear you and stay away.

I got lucky once and saw a 4' black bear about 30 feet away. He just stood there staring at me as I stared at him. I won. He ran away.

jcook90

Turbo Monkey
Mar 3, 2006
Connecticut
yesterday i was riding in westwoods in CT and saw a deer. They always like move and u see them in your peripheral vision and tend to freak out. Saw some black bears at diablo, that was kinda scarier. Anything short of a bear thats not rabid really dont do anything to you, they just run (deer run real fast too)

Jozz

Joe Dalton
Apr 18, 2002
SADL
I once had a Mountain Lion starring at me 20 feet away on PorcRim a couple of years ago... it was growling... It was scary.