Quantcast

Saddle, Bars and New to 29ers

Hup

Chimp
Apr 6, 2007
Portland, OR
I have a Redline Monocog 29er on the way and I would like to upgrade the bars, grips and saddle.

Right now I am leaning towards a Brooks B-17 seat and Origin8 Space or On-One Mary bars.

Anyone have any experience with these on their bike? Anyone want to suggest some alternatives?

I am a bit of a newb to MTB and 29ers. I have mostly ridden BMXs. So any other sage advice and recommendations would be most welcome.

Mods - I hope this is in the right section. I posted here as I wanted to get feedback from 29er riders.

Thanks,

J

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
Welcome.

B-17 - should be nice - but will be heavy.

Space bars are pretty much a knock off less expensive version of Mary Bars. Mary's are comfy bars. Go for it.

Enjoy the big hoops. If you haven't received the frame yet, might be worth it to have the local bike shop make sure evertyhing is prepped right especially with regard to the head tube and bottom bracket area.

Ride and enjoy!

Hup

Chimp
Apr 6, 2007
Portland, OR
Thanks for the info. I can stand the extra weight of the B-17. I am not exactly lightweight myself. And those bars do look super comfy.

I ordered the complete bike from a local bike shop and they are going to build it up for me.

Cheers,

J

Guitar Ted

Monkey
Aug 21, 2006
Waterloo, IA
I have had a Space Bar on my XXIX+G for awhile and it was great! (Awaiting new duties for the Space Bar, stay tuned!) I think it is a rather pedestrian looking handlebar, but it is made by Kalloy and is pretty tough. Mary Bars are fantastic too, a higher end feel and finish, but also far more expensive. You could buy two Space Bars and have change left over versus the cost of a Mary bar.

Either way, it's about being comfortable and in control, which either of the two bars will do very well.

Congrats on the big wheeled purchase. Hope you have miles of smiles aboard it!

Hup

Chimp
Apr 6, 2007