Quantcast

Saddle Height

SK6

Turbo Monkey
Jul 10, 2001
Shut up and ride...
Ok, This has been a burning issue that I believe would really help out not only Newbies, but experienced rider as well.....

What would be technically the proper height of the Saddle, knowing full well that with the different type of MTB'ing there is, that the height can vary.......

XC

Downhill

Freeride

etc......

I blew out a ligament in my knee last winter playing snow softball, we play a one pitch tournament up here to benefit the Special Olympics, it is great we get together drink and raise money for a good cause. But back to the subject at hand, I just found to take the pressure off my knees I had to keep raising and lowering until I found a height comfortable to me. I searched on line and came up with different adjustments for every site. So my advice is where it is comfortable.

DBC

Keri

Chimp
Aug 14, 2001
Ft. Collins, CO
I don't really know what I'm talking about, but being a newbie here is what I've heard/experienced:

Bike shop guy says that while in the saddle your legs should never extend all the way or straight. So I did that.

However, then it's so high that it's hard to get off the saddle and lean way back on the downhills, so I put it a little lower.

But I'm still high enough in back that my arms have to support part of my weight because I'm leaning forward so much. I guess if you feel you are leaning forward too much you could get a shorter stem or bent handlebars instead of lowering the saddle even more.

jaydee

Monkey
Jul 5, 2001
Victoria BC