Quantcast

Shimano M535 Wheelset and input?

mtbrider

Chimp
Jul 1, 2001
I'm looking for wheels and saw 123bikes.com have the 535 for $279.99. I like to jump and drop of obstacles i have built. Nothing over 3' at this point but may go higher as my skills and confidence grows.

Any input would be great or alternative suggestions. I would like to stay under $300.00 unless that is not possible.

ditchmonkey

Chimp
Jul 1, 2001
Yikes those wheels don't look too beefy. I wouldn't use those for any drop offs. I was a mechanic for quite a few years. I would recommend getting some Shimano XT hubs, 14 guage spokes, some beefy rims, and have the shop or mail order house build you some bomber 3 cross wheels. You would get a lot of life out of a set of wheels built like this.

DaveW

Space Monkey
Jul 2, 2001
The bunker at parliament
I would not touch them If you want to do any jumping they wont last more than a few rides doing that sort of stuff.
A guy I ride with trashed his on their second ride!!!! and he only weighs 50kg!:mad: :( :confused: :eek:

ridemonkey2

Chimp
Jul 2, 2001
Here
Originally posted by kevral
I hate basing my posts on hearsay, but word on the Shimano wheels are that they are over-priced, under-engineered, over-weight newbie-bait!:)
Shimano hubs = under-engineered newbie-bait?? Where did you get that word from? Have you been talking to HELLTACO?

R

RideMonkey

Actually wheels and hubs are two different things. Shimano hubs are hands down the toughest. I have an xt hub that has been to hell and back, twice, and it still runs like a champ.

The complete wheel systems that Shimano makes is another story entirely......

oldfart

Turbo Monkey
Jul 5, 2001
North Van