Quantcast

Somebody help me

Fulton

Monkey
Nov 9, 2001
I am installing my evil chain guide right now. when I pulled out the bottom bracket, something really wierd happened. Please keep in mind that i have been a shop mechanic for 4 years, so I'm not a total idiot when it comes to installing BB's. Ok I backed off the non drive side cup about 5-6 full turns, then went to remove the liped drive side cup, and it came out. with out the bottom bracket. I am using an XT square taper, UN-72. I have lots of extra XT's (none the right length) laying around so I pulled some out, and sure enough, the drive side cup is fixed to the bottom bracket. Better yet, when i took out the non drive cup, the bottom bracket was stuck in it!?!? I can put it back together the way it is, but am I going to have problems with it coming loose or creaking??

Micro-Sanjay

I invented Erbon Assolt
Nov 26, 2001
Tustin- not in OC
I'm seasonaly an idiot...what are you asking help with? removing the stuck driveside BB cup?

If it is, I had the same problem and did something drastic when everything else failed...well, Intense did it for me upon my direction and to their dismay...

DHiTone

Chimp
Sep 18, 2001
UK
It should be fine. They are only a push taper fit - in theory a slightly better fit on the drive side than the other. With geneal age, wear, ingress of cack they can work loose.

I have had this happen to a couple of BBs. I just put the drive side cup in all the way and then wound the BB in from the other side and tightened as normal. Worked fine for an entire season of DH riding big mountains everyday. No problem.

Tone

oldfart

Turbo Monkey
Jul 5, 2001
North Van
Yeah, what DHiTone said. Both cups do come off and the drive side is on more tightly. If its comes off I will clean everything up well and apply a little locktite of the red or blue variety to to the inside of the cups to keep it snug.

bomberz1qr20

Turbo Monkey
Nov 19, 2001
Originally posted by oldfart