Quantcast

Sponsorship: Do’s, Do Not’s, and General Etiquette

stoney

Part of the unwashed, middle-American horde
Jul 26, 2006
Colorado
I have been cleaning out some old HD's and found this document that I wrote a while back. I don't remember why I wrote it, but surely it was as part of a rant to some grom jumping onto the board about getting sponsorships. Thought it might be worth putting out there again.

First off, this is not an all encompassing, “do this and you’ll get sponsored” how to, nor is it a guarantee that you will lose a sponsorship if you do something stupid. This is a culmination of my experiences with sponsorships.

I guess my “credentials” would be a good place to start. I started riding/racing DH in 1999, picked up my first sponsors in late 2000. I raced expert from 2001 - 2004, acquired my semi-pro license then quit racing after accumulating too many major injuries and a few overnight stays in the hospital. During this time, I ran sponsorships for the Cal-Berkeley mountain bike team, managed the Cal mountain bike Team, worked at a bike shop for 5 years, started and managed Final Cause Racing for two seasons, and started a failed venture into a North American pro team. Since then I was in charge of promotional materials and sponsorships for a triathlon shop's pro team. All in all, I would like to think that I know my way around the company-racer relationship side of mountain biking.

The most important thing to remember about sponsorships is that they DO NOT exist for the sole purpose of you getting a good deal on parts. Sponsorships are a two way street where you and the company both benefit. Companies use sponsorships as a form of grass roots marketing (ie. Advertising). You as the sponsored rider are advertising the company in a very focused manner to a very specific region; one on one to local riders whom you know and meet. You are in essence an extension of the company, how you act reflects on the company.