Quantcast

stem research

boostindoubles

Nacho Libre
Mar 16, 2004
Yakistan
I've been riding this stem on my bike for 2 years now, and I'm getting tired of the bolts sticking out on the back. Sometimes they take chunks out of my knees. I picked it up at a bike shop and I don't even know what brand it is or the length...

I'd like to buy a new stem but don't know where to look or whats good/reliable.

any suggestions? Do people mostly run bmx stems on their 26 dj bikes?

thanks

Stoked

Turbo Monkey
Nov 28, 2004
LI, NY
the blk mrkt stem and the thomson x4 have very small profiles on the steerer clamp. nice round edge, no bolts sticking out. thomson is 31.8, bm is 25.4.

stino

Monkey
Jul 14, 2002
belgium
I've got this one-bolt bmx stem from Demolition, the back of it is entirely round.
but it still hurts if you smash your knee against it hard enough

ebrider510

Monkey
Dec 7, 2006
Bay Area, CA
BMX stems are nice if you run 22.2 steel bars. there are a lot of good ones to choose from. right now on my 26" i'm running a hussefelt stem and bar and they both feel pretty spot on. stem could be slightly longer, but i'm not complaining.

boostindoubles

Nacho Libre
Mar 16, 2004
Yakistan
I'm running some old aluminum Kona DH bars... Theyre big and taper down to the grips after the rise, so that'd probably be 31.8mm then?

PhilipW

Monkey
Mar 13, 2007
Leominster, MA
I'd say get a 25.4 stem...fairly easy to find, and bars are easy to come by.

Or better yet, get the SIC stem that can convert between 25.4 and 31.8

The holzfeller was a good suggestion...like only 35 bucks if you look around. 22.2 sized mtb bars could be a little more tricky to get ahold of.

BikeSATORI

Monkey
Apr 13, 2007
one world...
If you have waited 2 years... can you wait a couple more months? Hint Hint...
well, hmm..... gonna be the same time as some bars too, or what? I'm pretty anxious to see.