Quantcast

The GoPro thread

Discussion in 'Creative Pursuits' started by Kevin, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. Kevin

    Kevin Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    68 / 336
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,833
    Location:
    In Holland sticking my finger in a dike...
    Recently bought a GoPro Hero 3 silver edition and thought this would be a nice place to share set up tips, editing tricks etc for GoPro cameras. User movies are also welcome ofcourse!

    So how do I make my movies look like this?
     
    #1 -   Jun 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Kevin

    Kevin Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    68 / 336
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,833
    Location:
    In Holland sticking my finger in a dike...
    Ok I uploaded some footage to my laptop and it seems to be running smooth. But as soon as import it to the gopro editting program it starts to stutter.
    Am I doing something wrong or is it my ****ty laptop?
     
    #2 -   Jun 17, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
  3. Polandspring88

    Polandspring88 Superman

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,101
    Location:
    Broomfield, CO
    For some reason I was under the impression that the GoPro editing program was only compatible with the Hero 2 cameras. I could certainly be wrong about that, but I tried to use it and it would neither detect, or accept any footage from my Hero 3.
     
  4. eric strt6

    eric strt6 Resident Curmudgeon

    Rep/Likes:
    200 / 1,995
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    11,797
    Location:
    directly above the center of the earth
    just got a Hero 3 silver, downloaded the latest editing program and camera firmware update. everything seems compatible and is working correctly
     
    #4 -   Dec 1, 2013
  5. eric strt6

    eric strt6 Resident Curmudgeon

    Rep/Likes:
    200 / 1,995
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    11,797
    Location:
    directly above the center of the earth
    I was a little worried about how this would fee,l but once i was riding I didn't even notice the camera was there

     
    #5 -   Dec 1, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2013
  6. eric strt6

    eric strt6 Resident Curmudgeon

    Rep/Likes:
    200 / 1,995
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    11,797
    Location:
    directly above the center of the earth
     
    #6 -   Dec 1, 2013
  7. eric strt6

    eric strt6 Resident Curmudgeon

    Rep/Likes:
    200 / 1,995
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    11,797
    Location:
    directly above the center of the earth
    Got a chest mount, shot this in Yosemite

     
  8. Kevin

    Kevin Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    68 / 336
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,833
    Location:
    In Holland sticking my finger in a dike...
    Shot this a while ago in Todtnau Germany.
    Hadnt been on my dh bike in 2 years so im just cruzin down, hence the music.

     
  9. ButtersNZ

    ButtersNZ Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 10
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    I find a helmet cam, set to the side (lense furthest away from the helmet, as it's offset) gets good results.
    I record in 1080p wide, with protune enabled (for better detail) and (I think) at 48 FPS.

    GoPros are awesome. I've been swimming with whales and crashed my bike with my one.

    View attachment 115228

    View attachment 115229
     
    #9 -   Apr 1, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014