Quantcast

Trials Frame Help

jay_2004

Chimp
Mar 17, 2004
Newmarket, Ontairo, Canada
Hey everybody.

Im thinking about building up an urban/trials bike in the future, and I wanted to go with an Azonic Steelhead frame, with a planet X rigid fork. I also may be looking into getting a longer stem...but not sure. Are there any complications I should know about for using that frame for trials. It is constructed out of 4130 cromoly, with horizontal dropouts. I am fairly new to trials, but want to get into it later on. Any suggestions or anything would be great. Thanks

Jay

bwagner

Chimp
Feb 14, 2004
Baltimore, Maryland
Hey dude,
The "Steelhead" is a GREAT bike, just not for trials. The geometry is kinda wrong (Slack head angle), and to be honest it's kinda heavy and long(stays). It'll probably make a good bike to do a lot of urban on with a little trials style riding thrown in here and there, but not too good a dedicated trials rig. Although, there was a time not too long ago when we all rolled around on converted STOCK mountain bikes, and True Stock frames were very few and far between. It's all about what you feel comfortable on, and just learning is fine for any bike pretty much. Besides, don't stress out too much, you'll change you're mind in a few months anyways after you develope some preferences of your own with experience.:D

iridebikes

Monkey
Jan 31, 2004
seattle