Quantcast

We love to help newbies :)

R

RideMonkey

I always love to see new people get into the sport. Mountain biking is tough! It can be a daunting task to get started. Feel free to post any questions you might have here.

I have a feeling we will see a lot of clipless pedal threads ;)

RM

R

RideMonkey

Originally posted by MtnBikerChick
I don't know if I'm a beginner or not....

what are the qualifications?
You're a beginner if any of the following apply to you:

1. You have never ridden a one-handed wheelie while drinking a beer with the other hand.

2. You have not broken AT LEAST 5 frames in the last 5 years.

3. You have never ridden 200 miles in a 24 hour period.

4. You do not have a dog with a mountain biking name (ie "chainring").

5. Your car is worth more than your bike.

Hope that helps.

RM

KrusteeButt

I can't believe its not butter!
Jul 3, 2001
why the hell do YOU care?!
Ok, well here's a starter...and no, it's NOT to do with clipless!

I noticed that a lot of people (Snickryder for example) don't have the dustboots on their forks. Is there any particular reason? I was under the impression that people want those...go to some review boards and I see a lot of people say a "weakness" of some forks is that they don't come with the boots.

On the other hand, my fork's manual says to lift the boot to clean and relube the stanchion after every ride, and it's a real pain in the booty (sorry, had to say it :rolleyes: ) to get that stupid thing back into place.

R

RideMonkey

Dustboots are ugly. They weigh a few grams more than no boots.

Whether you need them or not is a subject of a lot of debate. Heres my take:

If you have Marzocchis, you don't need them. The Zokes seals and wipers do a great job. With any other fork I would stick to the manufacturers suggestions ragarding the boots.

Originally posted by KrusteeButt
Ok, well here's a starter...and no, it's NOT to do with clipless!