Quantcast

What are the best clipless pedals for road biking?

NRSracer

Jamis Slayer
Sep 7, 2001
Baltimore
please let me know the applicable shoe to, if it matters. this is my first set of clipless, so i figured id learn on a road bike so it's less painful.

200xRyder

Chimp
Jun 27, 2002
TrikeRiders.com
A clipless Pedal is a Clipless Pedal I say. I have some SHimano SPD 636's platforms (I think thats the #) on my BMXer and then I have a pair of Shimano SPD's without the platform. For Road BIking, Id assume you wouldnt want platforms. Just get some non-platform, SPD (type of clipless pedal), Double Sided Clips.

sub6

Monkey
Oct 17, 2001
williamsburg, va
road pedals are 1-sided. It provides better ground clearance when cranking through corners. If you've ever touched your pedal to the ground when spinning through a corner on a road bike, you DEFINITELY understand why they do that.

I have little or no experience with road pedals. My road bike has Ultegra SPDs on it, and I like them a lot. Frankly, it beats the crap out of me whether Look (or one of those other fancy Euro-types with the wacko retention systems) is any better. I like Ultegra just fine. I don't have to get special shoes, or anything like that. Plus, they're pretty cheap. I'd recommend 'em...

On the other hand, if you're trying to learn clipless to transfer over to your MTB, then get some mtb spuds, so you can take them off the roadie and use them on the mtb. There's a million good ones out there. SPD-wise, if you can find PD-M747s, they're awesome, but out of production so you'll probably have to go used. 515s are good, cheap, plentiful. 959s are pricey, but supposedly very good - no mud packing or any of that junk. You could also look at Eggbeaters or Times, or whatever else, I guess.

-dustin

boring
Jun 10, 2002
austin
the Ultegras have been known to have some issues after a while of use.

i'd go with Egg Beaters...which is what i'm gonna do when the road cleats come out.