Quantcast

What tires are best for Syracuse dirt?

crashdwn22

Chimp
Jan 3, 2007
I go to school at Syracuse (I'm a minute's ride from skytop) and I was wondering what the best FR/DH tires are for the conditions? Not for winter riding, I mean, but for spring and fall. I'm a freshman and so I haven't been up here too long so I'm not sure which tires are best suited for it. During the Fall it was wet and usually pretty slick. Should I drop some swampthings on it or is that gonna be too much? (I'm only slightly concerned about weight). thanks

and if you can show me where to get em cheap, that'd be nice too...

GumbaFish

Turbo Monkey
Oct 5, 2004
Rochester N.Y.
Hey man I just graduated from E.S.F. and am actually going there this weekend, to bad for the snow because I always love an excuse to ride skytop. Trust me ride there as much as you can while you are there, it rocks. I ran hutchinson octopus 2.3's while I was there was well as maxxis highroller 2.35's and both seemed to work well for the rocks which are all over the loop and the clay pit as well. I'd probably reccomend some hutchinson barracudas mrc medium compound, they will be lighter then the octopus...they dont come cheap though. The highrollers worked fine, and you can get them pretty cheap and new on ebay but the ones I had were doublewalled so they were heavy as heck. Go 'Cuse.

crashdwn22

Chimp
Jan 3, 2007
Hey, thanks for the info. It is too bad you're coming up in the snow (although as it stands right now I couldnt go riding anyway as my bike is currently in parted form). Greenfishsports.com has some cheap octopi (2.3 and 2.5, low and med compounds) and I found a couple places with high rollers for like 20 bucks more each. Is the roller that much better or should I roll on the octo's? I was thinkin 2.3 medium on the rear, 2.5 low on the front. I assume that will keep me pretty firmly planted.

what kind of bike did you run while you were here? I'm setting up a hardtail FR bike.
Go Orange(men)

GumbaFish