Quantcast

What to look for in a new bike?

jumpergirl

Chimp
May 28, 2005
Twin Cities, MN
Hi everyone. Newbie here. I mountain biked only once before and fell in love with the rush! So I went today to buy a bike and I'm so overwhelmed with all the details! I originally went in with the intentions of getting a women's specific bike, but now I'm not sure if that's totally necessary.

I'm looking in the $1000-$1500 range. For that price, what should I be looking for in a bike? The guys at the different bike shops we went to were talking in a complete foreign language (bike talk). Here are the two I was looking at (but don't even know if these are good/bad bikes).

1) Women specific Trek Fuel EX 7

2)Specialized FSR XC--Men's small

The catalogue lists the specifics for each, but I have no idea what any of it means.

Are there any women out there that have an opinion either way on the women specific thing? I'm 5'4", weigh 123 pounds.

Thanks!
jumpergirl

BikeGeek

BrewMonkey
Jul 2, 2001
Hershey, PA
Get the bike that fits you and what you'll be riding best. There's no point in getting 5" of travel if you don't see yourself riding anything but singletrack. (ie. no drops, stunts, etc.)

What are some of the specifics you're confused about? Post 'em and we can help explain.

EndoKing

Chimp
May 29, 2005
Glendale, CA
jumpergirl, I recently went looking at bikes with a girl who is 5'2". What I found about the women's specific bikes is that the frame is slightly different than a men's frame. For one thing, the seat position is closer to the handlebars. That is because a woman will have a shorter upper body and longer legs than a man of the same height. At your size, you should at lest take a look at a women's specific, it can't hurt. You mentioned the Specialized FSR XC in men's small, I know Specialized also makes that bike in a women's specific.