Quantcast

Wheelies and Manuals

GrapeApe79

Monkey
Sep 22, 2005
Issaquah, WA
Hi girls,

I have a question for ya. I have been riding very consistently for about 2 years and have pushed my limits up a Whistler a few times on blacks and double blacks, but still cannot do a good wheelie or manual to save my life! This is really inhibiting my growth as a mountain biker as I can't go off drops more than about 2 feet due to the front end hitting first and chunking it every time.

I am determined to get this down before my next Whistler trip (hopefully in May or June). Anyway, I'm just wondering if anyone else has or had the same problem and how you overcame it. I have even resorted to mountain biking "skills" books, and practice over and over. Note that I broke my wrist 6 months ago and am pretty afraid of wrecking, especially over concrete so that may be contributing to my wheelie / manual disability.

It frustrates me SO much that guys pick this up when they are kids and somehow most girls miss this invaluable skill.

Thanks so much! I love this resource, what a blessing!

amydalayna

Turbo Monkey
Aug 16, 2005
south lake tahoe, ca
i too lack the wheelie skills.
it's just a lack of doing them. guys are so good at them, just from practicing since they were wee tots.
most girls i know didn't start riding until later in life.

i think we just need to practice, practice, practice....

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
One tip I recently received was super helpful. Make sure your arms are extended when trying a wheelie/manual. I would pull my h-bars into me, and my weight would not be over the back wheel.

Keeping my arms extended (elbows almost locked) forces me to keep my weight back.

ThePriceSeliger

Mushhead
Mar 31, 2004
Denver, Colorado