Quantcast

wheels

JohnEZ

Chimp
Oct 10, 2001
Houston, Texas
My rear Rolf Propel tubeless wheel flat spotted in the Huntsville race two weeks ago. That's not a warranty item. So, suggestions for a Clydesdale (200 lbs) that rides rough, but wants to stay light.

DH rims should hold up, but Sun Rhyno Lites or Mavic 321s are heavy. I am not a downhiller or freerider.

I'd love to stay tubeless (not one flat in 3 months, including rough courses at X-Bar and Kerrville races). Mavic Crossmax? Or are they just as flimsy as the Rolf Propels?

I had a set of Mavic 517s with Hugi 240s, and had trouble keeping the rear in true.

Experiences? Suggestions?

:help:

R

RideMonkey

I'm 180 and I've been riding the crossmax wheels for almost 2 years. They have been VERY tough. I would definately recommend them.

thatoneguy

Monkey
Sep 6, 2001
N. California
with tubed tires. The Mavic 519's are made for digger riders. They are right in between the 517's and 521's. Also, you might want to lace them onto Hadleys, which are bullet proof...

The Toninator

Muffin
Jul 6, 2001
High(ts) Htown
Hey i think Scott S has a set up crossmax's for sale cheap only $550. The front one has not been used and the rear one was only used for the huntsville race.

dw

Wiffle Ball ninja
Sep 10, 2001
MV
Originally posted by thatoneguy
with tubed tires. The Mavic 519's are made for digger riders. They are right in between the 517's and 521's. Also, you might want to lace them onto Hadleys, which are bullet proof...

righty on, thats my call too. Dont be afraid of the 521s though. they will last a long time if you treat them well.

dw

novice

Chimp
Aug 8, 2001
Madison, WI
The problem with keeping the rear in true with your other wheelset could have been due to a medocre build. But I would look at the Bonty Valient for the rear with the asym spoke hole drilling. In theory this would be a stronger rear wheel without to much of an increase in rotating mass over the 517 or the front valient. My $0.02

Metroid