Quantcast

Whistler

Jabo

Chimp
Jul 18, 2005
Chehalis, WA
I'm relatively new to this stuff.
My starter bike is a (please don't laugh) 2002 Giant Warp DS1. I am looking to get a new bike pretty soon, but is there any trails up at Whistler that aren't DH or for dirt jumpers? I mainly just do xc and singletrack stuff, but my friends are all hyping this place like it's Mecca.

Biscuit

Turbo Monkey
Feb 12, 2003
Pleasant Hill, CA
It is a Mecca. And they have lot's of cross country trails.

A word of warning, Canadian cross country trails are about as technical as they get.
Fun though.

Five

Turbo Monkey
Mar 8, 2003
West Seattle, WA
On the mountain, there's easy trails to come down - like B-line, easy does it, Ho Chi Min. There's XC type trails off the mountain, but don't know those.

Snacks

Turbo Monkey
Feb 20, 2003
GO! SEAHAWKS!
Jabo said:
My starter bike is a (please don't laugh) 2002 Giant Warp DS1. I am looking to get a new bike pretty soon, but is there any trails up at Whistler that aren't DH or for dirt jumpers? I mainly just do xc and singletrack stuff, but my friends are all hyping this place like it's Mecca.
Are you hot? :thumb:

oly

skin cooker for the hive
Dec 6, 2001
Witness relocation housing
If you do the bike park, stick to the trails Five just mentioned. Any local bike shop should be able to point you in the direction of some valley trails that would suit your skill level. Wherever you ride, have fun!!

BuddhaRoadkill

I suck at Tool
Feb 15, 2004
Chintimini Bog
Jabo said:
Well I'm sure not laughing. I'll be up there in a couple weeks on a 1999 Trek DH with a 03 Boxxer Race. I believe the Monkeys voted this frame the Ugliest Bike EVER - the worst fork ever too! You can laugh, I am. :p

Good to hear that there are options on the hill. I love the rough stuff but can't jump worth a poo. The boys I'm going with [Grahm and Scott from Ellensburg] are gonna be hitting every table they can find. I will surely die. :D