Quantcast

Why is a vertical axle path better than a rearward one?

HardtailHack

used an iron once
Jan 20, 2009
Sorry guys I know you will hate this because it will end up as an E fight but.....

Why is a bike that has a forward axle path after its sag point considered to be a beter design than one that has an axle path that will move away from oncoming obstacles?
I know people consider pedalling efficiency as a major positive of VPP and similar style frames but surely a bike that keeps its wheelbase variation to a minimum throughout the full range of travel is going to be more stable on heavy landings and should also keep speed through rockgardens because of the rearward axle path. Surely this would be enough to make any high pivot frame seem like a logical design for a DH frame but they seem to be only made by the smaller brands.

I'm no expert on suspension design but surely a wheel that moves away from an oncoming object will help you carry speed compared with a design that sends your wheel against said object with a slightly forward axle path. I realise brake jack is a problem but top level racers seem to hit corners fater than ever so surely brake jack would be a minimal problem to them.

For what it's worth I like hardtails but when I started to consider DS frames, a rearward axle path seemed like the only logical choice to me.
Please tell me why I'm wrong.

no skid marks

Monkey
Jan 15, 2006
ACT Australia
IMO
High pivots will have brake squat, not jack, that's without a floater or a virtual high pivot point suspension design to elimimate squat, or a split pivot.
High pivot bikes don't feel as fast cornering as if they squat, the front geo won't steepen as the back will squat when the forks are diving under brakes, aslo the wheelbase of a high pivot won't shorten when slamming corners, so this won't make the bike more manouverable either.
A high pivot will tend to pop you out of corners better as the suspension unloads.