Quantcast

WWU at collegiate nats

Tapps

Chimp
Oct 18, 2007
So if you check out www.pinkbike.com I wrote my first story for them about myself and WWU at collegiate nats this year.

The team was super strong this year with almost everyone that went podiuming at one point or another. If we took more racers we would have done better overall... 6th was still not bad, but maybe next year.

-Leana

Tapps

Chimp
Oct 18, 2007
Sorry I have to "toot my own horn" it's called publicity and for those of us without managers, we have to promote ourselves, as cocky as that sounds.
I'm a marketing student not an english major so I'm pretty sure there are heaps of gramatical and spelling errors, my bad.

But ya collegiate cycling is huge. The first school I went to Fort Lewis in Durango, Colorado has the best team and there are colleges that even offer scholarships. WWU is the best team in the northwest. Most schools have cycling clubs, which means you can compete at the collegiate level.

MinorThreat

Turbo Monkey
Nov 15, 2005
Nine Mile Falls, WA
Hey, congrats Leana and everyone!

Yeah WWU's team has been very active for a number of years. I was really hoping my son had followed through with signing on with the DH team while he was attending; but he never was bitten by the competitive bug hard like I was.

He was a Marketing major too; just graduated from Western this year. Hey, keep working on the writing; it is going to be one of your most valuable assets to hone. Trust me.

bockner

Monkey
Jun 21, 2005
bellevue, wa
spelling aside you are doign a great job of self promotion and I am sure you will land with some event coordinator or bike manu post graduation and continue riding and promoting (just dont say "podiuming" in the interview :) )

Tapps

Chimp
Oct 18, 2007